Keep up to date with the latest news
NEWS UPDATE: Ballon d’ Or: Three EPL players who were robbed of past awards

NEWS UPDATE: Ballon d’ Or: Three EPL players who were robbed of past awards

With nine days left to denote the winner for this yr’s Ballon d’Or, DAILY POST highlights the 3 English Premier League, EPL, players who were robbed of the honor in the yesteryear.

The winner for the Ballon d’Or 2021 will be announced on Nov 29.

DAILY POST reports that 3 EPL players deserved to win the Ballon d’Or in the yesteryear.

The EPL has been host to a lot of world-class and talented players from across the world.

EPL top clubs, Liverpool, Manchester United, Chelsea, Manchester City and Arsenal, have had great players in the yesteryear and fifty-fifty currently.

Players such as Thierry Henry, Sergio Aguero, Cristiano Ronaldo, Eden Peril and Fernando Torres, Wayne Rooney and Frank Lampard have all done great exploits in the Premier League in the yesteryear and won prizes in the English top-flight league.

Notwithstanding, the most coveted private honor in football, the Ballon d’Or, has not found its way to England too often.

Since the English domestic league was rebranded and remodelled as the EPL in 1992, only 2 players from the English top-flight league have won the Ballon d’ Or – Liverpool’s Michael Owen (2001) and Manchester United’s Cristiano Ronaldo (2008).

DAILY POST highlights 3 EPL players who had incredible seasons for their clubs in the yesteryear but were overlooked for the Ballon d’Or honor:

1. Thierry Henry – (Arsenal)

In the 2002-2003 flavor, the world of football witnessed something bewildering when Juventus’s Pavel Nedved was awarded the Ballon d’Or honor ahead of Henry.

Henry had pose upwards mind-boggling numbers that flavor, scoring 32 goals and registering a stellar 28 assists for the Gunners.

The former French Republic international also had 29 to a greater extent goal contributions than his Czech counterpart, Nedved.

To say it was the biggest robbery in world football history would be an understatement.

Notwithstanding, despite the snub, Henry continued his impressive display on the pitch for several years.

He finished a surprising third in the 2006 Ballon d’Or race, finishing behind defender Fabio Cannavaro and goalkeeper Gianluigi Buffon.

2. Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool)

In the 2018-2019 flavor, Van Dijk played in all of Liverpool’s 38 Premier League games.

The Dutch defender averaged 1.0 tackles, 1.1 interceptions, 1.1 offsides and an amazing 5.2 clearances per game.

He was also instrumental in Liverpool’s 6th triumph in the Champions League.

His performances for Jurgen Klopp’s side earned him compliment from across the world, with many naming him favourite to win the Ballon d’Or honor that yr.

Notwithstanding, Van Dijk finished moment in the final voting circular, losing out on the honor to former Barcelona captain, Lionel Messi, by just 7 votes.

3. Eric Cantona – (Manchester United)

Having finished in the third place in the Ballon d’Or rankings in the 1992-1993 flavor with Leeds, Cantona was expected to win the honor with Manchester United.

The former French Republic international scored 24 goals and registered 13 assists in 45 appearances across all competitions.

Notwithstanding, the former forward did not fifty-fifty goal in the top 3 of the Ballon d’Or race as Barcelona’s Hristo Stoichkov won the honor, with Juventus’s Roberto Baggio and AC Milan’s Paolo Maldini finishing moment and third, respectively.

Source link from

Aid Jiokcareers grow by


So we can expand and extend our arrive at


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *